Destiny's Portal

Destiny's Portal is the companion book for the Enchanted Oracle, a deck of 36 cards. Also by Barbara Moore, who wrote the companion books for the Gilded Tarot, Mystic Dreamer Tarot and the Mystic Faerie Tarot.

By Barbara Moore · Book · Published by Llewellyn

Review by Bonnie Cehovet

“Destiny’s Portal” is the companion book for the “Enchanted Oracle”. Written by Barbara Moore (author of “A Guide To Mystic Faerie Tarot”, “The Gilded Tarot Companion”, “The Hip Witch Tarot”, and “The mystic Dreamer Tarot), this small (5” by 6”, 217 pages) book carries an infinite amount of wisdom. Written in a very easy to read, easy to follow format, Moore not only discusses the cards, but presents love spells, enchantments, visualization, information on using a pendulum, journaling exercises and card spreads.

There are 36 full-color cards that make up the “Enchanted Oracle”. They represent In her author’s note, Moore indicates that her use of the terms like “nature, the universe, and the goddess” are meant to refer to the concept of a higher being. How this being is defined will differ from individual to individual. For me, the following introductory statement set the purpose and intent of this book (and oracle) well:

“Welcome To The Enchanted Oracle”

“Seek your destiny through trailing vines and gnarled trees to a secret realm rich with myth and magic. An enchanted place awaits, filled with ethereal faeries and haunting deities. Here sorceresses wield their spells. And it is here where you, surrounded by power and bathed in the full moon’s glow, can weave your future.”

The book begins with a short section on how to use the “Enchanted Oracle”, including the basics for using a pendulum and reading with the cards. The steps for performing a reading are given as:

1. Decide your question, and write it down.
2. Select the spread you are going to use.
3. Shuffle the cards.
4. Lay out the cards according to the spread that you selected.
5. Interpret the cards.
6. Write

The spreads included are a one card spread, a three card spread, and a four card spread. For the three and four card spreads, the positions are simply defined, but for the three card spread, sample questions are given. I think this is very important, because it shows the reader by example how to get an incredible amount of information from one card.

Something else that I found to be important because of the help that it will give the reader is the listing that Moore gives on where to find specific spells, enchantments, and visualizations, the use of a pendulum, and journaling. These are listed by topic (i.e. Fear, Gratitude, Guidance/Strength/Answers, Healing/Cleansing/Purifying, Love, Power/Focus/Energy, Transformation, and Your Body). Whatever the reader wishes to address, they will find the information that they need quickly.

The cards are as follows:

Autumn Splendor
Celtic Witch
Crimson Moon
Dark Enchantment
Dark Queen
Dragon Witch
Emerald Princess
Gothic Rose
Green Man
Green Woman
Gypsy Rose
Jewel of the Sea
Lavender Moon
Love Springs Eternal
Maiden Moon
Mermaid Dreams
Mother Earth
Mystic Mermaid
Night Queen
Renaissance Rose
Shadow Weaver
Silver Moon Fairy
Spirit of Samhain
Spirit of Yule
Tattered Dreams
White Magic

Each card is presented with a black and white scan, information concerning the card, the oracle message, and a way in which to use the energy. (Although I am not reviewing the cards here – simply because I don’t have them yet – I do want to note that they are whimsical, incredibly beautiful, and create a world all of their own. Some of them were previous work done by the artist – Jessica Galbreth – and some of them were done specifically for this project. What drew me to them was that a good percentage of the cards portray the figure in the card looking over their shoulder at the reader. This is such a powerful way to ask the reader to “join them in their world, on their journey.)

Autumn Splendor talks about reaping the harvest – about the accomplishments that the Seeker has achieved. The “extra” that is presented with this card is “Thank You Notes” – a reminder to give thanks to the higher beings that helped them achieve their goals.

Gothique talks about our shadows, and what scares us. The oracular message is that of recognizing our fears, and facing them, so that we can release them and move on. The “extra” that is presented with this card is “Fear Itself” – a journaling exercise to help the Seeker identify their fears and work them out.

Each card is a gift, a gift of personal empowerment. Moore ends the book with the following:

“Shine Brightly”

“Magical energy is everywhere, and available to everyone. Miracles happen. Deities hear and respond. Life is an amazing journey.

Both Jessica and I hope that this book, these cards, and the fairy charm provide ways for you to access and implement magic in your life. Use these items wisely.

Explore your connections to the past, and to nature. Celebrate your glory, and your uniqueness. Acknowledge your power. Be beautiful, and be kind.”

Note: The fairy charm that Moore refers to is something that comes with the book/deck kit.

I think that this book is some of Moore’s finest work. Making best use of the deck and book is an act of personal empowerment.

© Bonnie Cehovet

Bonnie Cehovet is Certified Tarot Grand Master, a professional Tarot reader with over ten years experience, a Reiki Master/Teacher and a writer.

Home > Tarot Books > Destiny's Portal